top of page
Search
Writer's picture tbHUNKYDORY

INITIAL – Special Grants of the Akademie der Künste for Artists

Contact Project INITIAL Akademie der Künste Hanseatenweg 10 10557 Berlin +49 (0)30 200 57-15 84 (Mon – Thur 10 am – 3 pm) initial@adk.de



As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, damage on an unprecedented scale has been caused in all areas of art production. Numerous artists now find themselves in precarious situations. As part of the NEUSTART KULTUR programme launched by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, the Akademie der Künste is awarding the INITIAL Special Grant for the research and development of art and works in all artistic fields. The purpose of the grants is to safeguard and facilitate art production and to provide the basis and incentive for long-term artistic projects whose preparation and development have been hampered during the pandemic.

Based on the six sections of the Akademie der Künste, the grant is targeting artists working professionally in the fields of the visual arts, architecture, literature, music, performing arts, and film and media arts / audio plays, as well as emerging artists who have arrived on the scene with their first works. The programme is endowed with a total of € 5 million. 791 grants of € 6,000 will be awarded over a period of 4 months (October 2021 to the end of January 2022). The selection is made by seven juries composed of Akademie members. Online applications from artists will be accepted from 15 June to 15 July 2021. A maximum of 1,000 artists can apply in each art section. >> Online application portal


FAQ – Questions and Answers About the INITIAL Special Grant 1. What are the objectives of the special grant? 2. Who can apply for the grant? 3. Can students enrolled at universities or technical colleges apply for the grant? 4. How many grants will be awarded? 5. How much funding does the grant provide? 6. When can I submit an application? 7. How can I apply for the grant? 8. How many applications are accepted? 9. What information and documentation do I have to submit with my application? 10. Can I submit more than one application for a grant? 11. How are grant recipients chosen? 12. What are the selection criteria? 13. How will I be informed if my application has been accepted? 14. How will the grant be disbursed? 15. Do the proposal concepts developed during the grant period have to be implemented? 16. Can I present my work at the Akademie der Künste? 17. How do I show evidence of the work put into my proposed project? 18. How long is the grant period? 19. In what format should the grant report be submitted? 20. When is the project report due? 21. How should the contents of the project report be structured? 22. In what language should the project report be written? 23. Can I extend my grant period and turn in my report at a later date? 24. Can I publicise receiving grant support in my publications or performances? 25. Am I required to show my lost earnings or detail my financial situation? 26. Does the money have to be spent in 2021? 27. Can I apply for the grant if I receive social benefits (SGB II), such as a simplified basic income allowance? 28. Can I apply for the grant if I receive unemployment benefits? 29. Can I apply for additional funding after receiving the grant? 30. Will the grant be deducted from my basic income allowance? 31. Can the grant money also be used for basic necessities? 32. Can the grant be combined with other funding programmes? 33. Does the funding have to be paid back under certain circumstances? 34. What do I need to be aware of so that I don’t expose myself to accusations of subsidy fraud? 35. How is the grant to be specified on my income tax return? 36. When is the grant period considered completed?

Still have questions? Please direct any further questions to initial@adk.de.

6 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page