top of page
Search
Writer's picture tbHUNKYDORY

INTERVIEW with ⭐ Mariam Vardzelashvili

Today, when we are caught up in almost the third world war again, the "Russian Empire" is to blame. The morning of February 24 changed the world, suddenly making unimportant what had seemed so unimaginable important the night before. As the torrent of terrifying news swept over us, convictions were shattered and priorities radically changed. Watching the horrors of war in the 21st century on their computer or TV screens, many people and some very close ones, and relatives involved in the process. I decided to post the interview I have recorded before the happening and could not add our last conversations to it though girl, I am talking with eagerly support Ukrainian victims and refugees with their concerts as many of us.



I will not discuss the eternal question - What is the role of music and musicians in times of war? For me personally, already a survivor of the war, music helps me in difficult times to focus on the possibilities that surviving life offers. But start my most so long-planned interview with the beautiful and delightful Mariam Vardzelashvili, Vienna –based Georgian pianist.



What drew you to the music?

▪ I was drawn to music at such an early age when actions are purely intuitive. I think it was its absolute and indefinable beauty

When did you know you wanted to become a musician?

▪ At a very early age. I think I was around 9.

Which instruments do you play?

▪ I play piano and I sing.

What was the first tune you’ve learned?

▪ The theme from 'Les parapluies de Cherbourg'.

Is your family musical?

▪ Yes. My father is an excellent amateur pianist, and my brothers play trumpet, just like my grandfather, but none of them are professional musicians. For that, we have to go one generation beyond: my great-grandfather was a conductor.

What are your fondest music memories? In your house? In your neighborhood or town?

▪ Too many to count. As a child it was friends of my parents gathered at our place, playing piano, guitar, saxophone, and singing…then when I was 6 I started singing in the choir of the Catholic Church in Tbilisi. I remember my excitement about getting solos. Then as a pianist, first time performing at the Tbilisi State Conservatoire small hall…

Who are you inspired by? (Who is the coolest celeb or director or name that has been featured in one of your projects? Did they have any say in the music?)

▪ I am inspired by many people, luckily. There are some musicians I worship, and then there are people who inspire me daily. As a chamber musician I am incredibly lucky to say that the members of my piano trio, their artistry and energy are a source of inspiration for me

Please explain your creative process

▪ You have to be able to envision the end result before you can start and then carve out the interpretation, much like a sculpturer does.

What’s an average day like for you?

▪ I think I am very lucky because I cannot say that any day is average. Sometimes I say that I crave routine, but it is not true, and Lockdown times have taught me this lesson.

Is there a hidden meaning in any of your music?

▪ None of the music I play is mine so to speak, but it becomes mine for a time. The beauty of music is that each one of us can find any meaning and content they look for. To re-quote F. Mendelsohn, music is too precise for words. I think that everyone finds their own meaning.

Do you collaborate with others? What is that process?

▪ I adore playing chamber music, so I am constantly collaborating with other musicians.

Coolest event you’ve been to?

▪ Very hard to say. I have been to many out of this world concerts, some theater plays, and even gatherings with friends.

Favorite hobby when not performing?

▪ Talking with people, exploring human nature and tending to my home garden, reading…

What is your favorite part of your job?

▪ Almost all of it- exploring new pieces, collaborating with other musicians, commissioning works, traveling, performing, meeting audiences…

What is your fave musical composition?

▪ What makes it so good? I don't think I have one. With so many masterpieces to choose from, it is hard to only name 1.

What would you consider the most challenging aspect of performing music?

▪ Fear of exposing yourself, your most vulnerable deepest part of the soul to absolute strangers when on stage

Describe a time when a musician or director disagreed with you. What happened?

▪ It happens all the time. We argue and try to find solutions.

What are the essential qualities that make a good musician?

▪ You have to adore the job and be hard-working and devoted.

What was the best concert you’ve seen and why?

▪ I have been to many fantastic concerts, but all of them were magical and cathartic and make you knave the concert hall elated and feeling your best, inspired.

Describe the worst performance you have seen. What would you change about it?

▪ It is usually when someone is super stressed and cannot manage to overcome stage fright.

Describe a time you got into an argument with a coworker. What happened?

▪ Whenever we have different ideas and approaches. We try to look for solutions.

Please discuss how you interact with and respond to fans

▪ With big pleasure and interest, gratitude. It is always exciting to hear what people think.

What is your favorite part about this line of work?

▪ Almost everything…. Your least favorite? How competitive it can be. Why? It is stressful and distracting.

Have you ever dealt with performance anxiety?

▪ Of course

Tell me about your favorite performance venues.

▪ I don't have only one.

What advice would you have for someone wanting to follow in your footsteps?

▪ To be hard-working and courageous.

When you made your debut?

▪ The first concert ever was very small, but I was 7 at the time.

Remember the emotions?

▪ Of course. It was very exciting.

Was it a nerve-wracking experience?

▪ No, not all

The Coolest scene you scored in your career?

▪ I hope it is still ahead.

What’s in your bag?

▪ Wallet, phone, FFP2 Mask.

What advice would you give to beginners who are nervous?

▪ Believe in yourself, but also eradicate your weaknesses.

How often and for how long do you practice?

▪ Everyday pretty much… Depends on how much time I have and how much work I have ahead. It can vary greatly.

Do you teach music?

▪ Yes!

How do you balance your music with other obligations – husband, house, relatives, and friends?

▪ By sacrificing sleep :))

How did you handle COVID during restrictions, what was the first thing you did, and it was over?

▪ It was not easy. Went out to see my friends and then went for all of it: museum visits, traveling, concerts

Do you think our lives have changed? Or we’ll turn to the old lifestyle?

▪ I think we will turn to old lifestyles, but the memory of the fear will remain in our subconscious minds…









20 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page